Council elects new Mayor and Deputy Mayor

June 15, 2018 0

Fine Gael Councillor Anthony Lavin was elected as Mayor of Fingal at the annual meeting of Fingal County Council which was held today in the Council Chamber at County Hall, Swords.  Cllr Grainne Maguire, an independent councillor, was elected as Deputy Mayor.  Cllr Lavin defeated Cllr Paul Mulville (Social Democrats) and Cllr Sandra Kavanagh (Solidarity) in the election for Mayor while Cllr Maguire defeated Cllr Lorna Nolan (Independent) in the election for Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Lavin, who represents the Howth-Malahide Electoral Area, has been a member of Fingal County Council since 2011. He is originally from Swinford, Co Mayo, and is a Customer Care Manager with AXA Insurance.

In his acceptance speech the new Mayor identified housing, MetroLink and the development of Dublin Airport as areas he wanted to work on and added: “It is truly an honour to be sitting here as Mayor of Fingal.”

Cllr Maguire, who represents the Balbriggan Electoral Area, has been an elected representative for the past 10 years and succeeded her mother, May McKeon, on Council in 2013. Her mother had been an elected representative almost 40 years.

Tributes were paid to the outgoing Mayor, Cllr Mary McCamley. Chief Executive Paul Reid presented Cllr McCamley with a Commemorative Medal and a Photograph Album recording her year in office.

Cllr McCamley thanked Cllr Adrian Henchy for his support as Deputy Mayor during the year and paid tribute to everybody who had contributed to making her year in office a success.

Tributes were also paid to Cllr Ken Farrell (Labour) who is stepping down from the Council having been first elected in 1985.