€95,000 awarded by Fingal County Council under the Youth Sports Grants Scheme

November 13, 2019 0

Fingal County Council has awarded over €95,000 to 91 sports clubs throughout Fingal under the Youth Sports Grants Scheme.  At this week’s full Council meeting, councillors approved the funding which will see €1,050 allocated to each of the successful organisations. The purpose of the Youth Sports Grants is to assist existing sports clubs towards the purchase of equipment, refereeing/coaching fees, with the main aim of increasing participation levels in their local communities.

sports_fundingThe Fingal Sports Office, part of the network of Sports Ireland Local Sports Partnerships, invited sports clubs to apply for a small grant under this scheme. Successful applicants had to meet a number of criteria such as to have sport for young people as its primary focus and have a voluntary management committee with elected officers.

Mayor of Fingal Cllr Eoghan O’Brien said: “I am delighted to see this allocation of funding to sporting organisations across Fingal, which play such a pivotal role in the health and wellbeing of our young people. I would like to commend all those volunteers who give so freely of their time and energy to their clubs.”

Fingal County Council Principal Sports Officer, Marion Brown said: “Sport is an extremely important part of the lives of young people, I am delighted that this is being recognised and that we are able to provide funding to the chosen sports clubs to ensure that young people in Fingal can continue to enjoy playing sport in their local clubs.”

Having examined all applications, it was decided to award a grant of €1,050 to the following 91 sports clubs:

  1. Activmultisport Dublin 15
  2. Aer Lingus Swim Club
  3. Balbriggan FC
  4. Balbriggan RFC
  5. Baldoyle Boxing Club
  6. Baldoyle United FC
  7. Ballyboughal GFC
  8. Balrothery Balbriggan Tennis Club
  9. Balrothery FC
  10. Beann Eadair CLG (Howth)
  11. Castleknock Celtic FC
  12. Castleknock Cricket Club
  13. Castleknock Lawn Tennis Club
  14. Coolmine Badminton Club (CBC)
  15. Coolmine Swim Club
  16. Donabate Golf Club
  17. Donabate Portrane Tennis Club
  18. Donabate Portrane Special Olympics Sports Club
  19. Dublin Sonics Basketball Club (Tyrrelstown)
  20. Erin go Bragh GAA (Castaheany)
  21. Fingal Flyers Powerchair Football
  22. Fingal Ravens GFC (Rolestown)
  23. Fingal Triathlon Club
  24. Forrest Little Golf Club (Swords)
  25. Garda Westmanstown RFC
  26. Garristown GFC
  27. Glebe North FC (Balbriggan)
  28. Grove LTC (Malahide)
  29. Innisfails Karate Club (Balgriffin)
  30. Irish Vikings Basketball club (Balbriggan) 
  31. Kadca Junior Badminton Club (Baldoyle)
  32. Kinsealy Utd FC
  33. Lambay Sports Academy (Donabate/Portrane)
  34. Lir Swim Club (Swords)
  35. Little Seeds Arc Club (D 15)
  36. Lusk Athletic Club
  37. Lusk United AFC
  38. Malahide Basketball Club
  39. Malahide Cricket Club
  40. Malahide Fingal Hockey Club
  41. Malahide Golf Club
  42. Malahide Lawn tennis & croquet club
  43. Malahide RFC
  44. Malahide United FC
  45. Malahide Yacht Club
  46. Mid Sutton Gym Club
  47. Na Dubh Ghall GAA (Baldoyle)
  48. NAC Sharks Special Olympics Club (D15)
  49. North County Cricket Club
  50. North County Table Tennis Club
  51. O’Dwyers GAA (Balbriggan)
  52. Oldtown Handball Racket Club
  53. Ongar Chasers Basketball
  54. Phoenix Cricket Club
  55. Phoenix Junior Badminton Club
  56. Portmarnock Amateur Boxing Club
  57. Portmarnock Swim Team
  58. Portmarnock Tennis Club
  59. Portrane Athletic FC
  60. Portrane Hockey Club
  61. PSLC Badminton Club (Portmarnock)
  62. River Valley Rangers AFC
  63. Rush Athletic FC
  64. Rush Cricket club
  65. Skerries Athletic Club
  66. Skerries Harps GAA
  67. Skerries Hockey club
  68. Skerries Junior Badminton Club
  69. Skerries Lawn Tennis Club
  70. Skerries rowing Club
  71. Skerries Rugby FC
  72. Skerries Sailing Club
  73. St Sylvester’s GAA Club
  74. St Vincents Water Polo (D15)
  75. St. Colmcilles GFC (Swords)
  76. St. Ita’s AFC (Donabate/Portrane)
  77. St.Margarets GAA Club
  78. St.Mochta’s FC
  79. St.Peregines GAA Club
  80. Suttonians Hockey Club
  81. Swords Basketball
  82. Swords Boxing Club
  83. Swords Celtic Schoolboys
  84. Swords Manor Football Club
  85. Taekwon-do ITF Warriors Inclusion (Swords)
  86. Trackside LTC (Baldoyle)
  87. Tyrrelstown Cricket Club
  88. Verona FC
  89. Westmanstown Gaels GAA
  90. Westmanstown Wasps
  91. Wild Geese GAA

TOTAL €95,550