General Election 2020 Fingal Candidates – Make your vote count!

February 10, 2020 0

10-Feb-20: Counting continues today or the General Election 2020 candidates and after a mix up with names yesterday which saw only one of the five seats filled.  With nearly 63% turnout the remaining seats expected to be filled today with the quota still at 10,574 votes.   You can follow the progress on the remaining seats here.

07-Feb-20: Only one day to go till the election polls open and never has it been more important for you to cast your vote.  Balbriggan has never had a TD so this is your chance to make a difference, don’t leave it for someone else!   In the local elections last year the turnout was only 24% and turnout levels on the day will have a major bearing on the results.

27-Jan-20: Who are the local candidates and when can I vote?  The general election 2020 is on 8th February and there are five seats up for grabs in the Dublin Fingal constituency. The constituency covers the areas of Balbriggan, Ballyboghil, Balgriffin, Balscadden, Clonmethan, Donabate, Garristown, Hollywood, Holmpatrick, Kilsallaghan, Kinsaley, Lusk, Malahide, Portmarnock, Rush, Skerries and Swords.

general election 2020 fingal candidatesYou must indicate the order of your choice of candidates by writing 1 in the box beside the photograph of your first choice of candidate and, if you wish, write 2 beside the photograph of your second choice of candidate, 3 beside the photograph of your third choice and so on.  When you vote this way, you are instructing the returning officer to transfer your vote to your second choice candidate if the first choice is either elected or eliminated. If your second choice candidate is either elected or eliminated, your vote will be transferred to your third choice and so on. This is known as a single transferable vote – see example below

The names of the candidates in the election appear in alphabetical order on the ballot paper along with an indication of their political party, if any.  A photograph of the candidate and/or a party emblem may also appear on the ballot paper.

General election 2020 Fingal Candidates:

louise-oreilly joe-obrien darragh-obrien alan-farrell
Louise O’Reilly – ELECTED
Sinn Féin
– Swords
Joe O’Brien – ELECTED
Green Party
Darragh O’Brien – ELECTED
Fianna Fáil
– Malahide
Alan Farrell – ELECTED
Fine Gael
– Malahide
duncan-smith tony-murphy alistair-smith oghenetano-john-uwhumiakpor
Duncan Smith – ELECTED
Labour – Swords
Tony Murphy
Non Party – Balbriggan
Alistair Smith
United PeopleBalbriggan
John Uwhumiakpor
People Before Profit – Balbriggan
lorraine-clifford-lee terry-kelleher james-reilly paul-mulville
Lorraine Clifford-Lee
Fianna Fáil
– Donabate
Terry Kelleher
People Before Profit
– Skerries
James Reilly
Fine Gael
– Lusk
Paul Mulville
Social Democrats
– Donabate
glenn-brady gemma-doherty sandra-sweetman dean-mulligan
Glenn Brady
Non Party
– Portrane
Gemma O’Doherty
Non Party
– Swords
Sandra Sweetman
Non Party
– Swords
Dean Mulligan
Independents 4 Change
– Swords

Example Voting Slip

Option 1 – Choose 1 or more candidates Option 2 –  Choose all
by choosing this option transfers cannot go to candidates you have not selected
by choosing this option transfers can go to other candidates

Related articles:

15-Jan-20: General Election – 8 February 2020